Explosive

Aruba is now in a learning process. The number of Covid-19 cases is higher than it was ever during the first wave. In June the island had no cases. On July 10th there were four cases again, the first fresh tourists from the USA were able to enter.

At some point in the past few weeks, according to my information, a bartender has returned from vacation in the Netherlands. It was tested on arrival and was negative. So he went back to work. Unfortunately, he was positive anyway. A large part of the infections are said to be due to this bar.

On August 3rd we were still with 12 cases, the first five cases were known in which the people here on Aruba were infected. On August 4, the number rose to 17 and the government announced the first tightening. On August 5, 39 new cases were reported. On August 6, another 92 cases were added. Today then 133. The total number is 279 active cases. Unfortunately this is just exploding a bit here.

Bus driver with mask and window

The most far-reaching requirement is to wear a mask on public transport. I have no problem with that in and of itself. However, some bus drivers no longer stop at all if the passenger is waiting at the bus stop without a mask. That's annoying me, after all, nothing can happen outside. Then there is the matter of that garlic... You are pretty much at the mercy of your own breath of death.

For a few days now I've been anxiously waiting for a package from home. Jens brought it to the post office in the Netherlands almost two weeks ago.

Note the spelling of the “S” in FAST. That’s the program.

In the late morning I received a bunch of messages on Whatsapp, all of which came from an unknown number in Aruba.

"Ho"
"Hi"
"My name is luis from UPS"
"Can i hafe your name?"
"Are you the owner of Yacht Sissi?"

"My name is Jörg and I am the owner of Sissi."

"Hi sir"
"My name is Luis from UPD"
"Oops"
"Are you in Aruba?"

"Yes I am. I hope you have a parcel for me."

"Correct i have a transit shipment for you, but we connot delivered, customer must to picked up at Cargo Building due that the shipment is in transit."
"Our location is ..."
"You will not pay duties"
"But our handling is"
“48.86 USD”

The package is already behind Sissi on the jetty

I ask Charly to drive me to the airport. The UPS branch is located there. Later on I get a guilty conscience. I'm in the office with a face mask on and I'm allowed to wait ten minutes for Luis to finish a phone call with his girlfriend. There always has to be that much time.

But then he immediately goes to work for me. First he collects the fees. I'm paying with cash in the hope that I might speed up the process a little. The opposite is the case - Luis won't find 1.14 USD. A colleague in the back room can change. I'm allowed to sign a few papers, other pieces of paper are stamped loudly. Then Luis explains to me that these papers now have to go to customs.

He disappears for almost a quarter of an hour, then more pieces of paper have been added to the pile of paper. Then Luis explains to me that he is going to get the package. It'll be back in just 20 minutes. I now have to drive the papers and the package to customs in Oranjestad. Or. Charly has to drive me there, we've already been on our way for about an hour to pick up the package.

Äppler on board

The port in Oranjestad is largely deserted. Nevertheless, Charly cannot find a parking space, parking is not provided there. Since I don't know where the customs are, I leave the package in the car. It drives to the gas station with Charly. A cruise ship is lying at the pier, but only part of the crew is on board. I ask the porter where customs are. He points to the neighboring building. There is a kind of cage there that I go into and knock on a tiny window.

The window opens a crack and I am asked about my request. Now I should have presented the package. However, the customs officer is satisfied with the papers and says that he believes me, I would bring the package on board. Clear! Of course!

The most expensive cider of my life

Never in my life have I had a cider that costs six euros per glass. Every sip one euro. And it tastes really, really good. Thank you!

5 Replies to “Explosiv”

  1. Hi Jörg,
    first of all my condolences to unity. Second leg was ok, first leg rather not, right?
    Thanks for your post. He shows me two things. A single PCR test is no guarantee. So I fear that I will have to quarantine the hotel when I return to Grrnada in November. Not good at all. And shipping parts, in my case earth parts to the Caribbean, remains an adventure. Zrotz meanwhile quite precise information on brokerage and “Yacht-in-Transit”.
    Thanks for your info and continue to persevere. Do you have hope for onward travel in 2021?
    Greetings Alfred

    1. Hello Alfred, I could get over the harmony. After the first leg, I didn't have many hopes. I hope to be able to continue traveling in 2020 when the hurricane season is over. I actually wanted to spend Christmas on another island if the infection situation allows it. Greetings to Petra too!

  2. Bottom up! Enojy your meal! I keep my fingers crossed that this is just a brief flicker of the 19er.
    Greetings from Bavaria, Christoph

    1. Unfortunately, it didn't turn out to be a brief flicker. I forecast a four-digit number by Sunday evening. Many tourists act weird when they are on vacation.

      1. Hiho Jörg, oh shit, that doesn't sound good at all. That is probably no longer a brief flicker.

        Ciao Christoph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Explosiv

Aruba befindet sich nun in einem Lernprozess. Die Zahl der Covid-19 Fälle ist so hoch, wie sie während der ersten Welle niemals war. Im Juni war die Insel ohne Fälle. Am 10. Juli gab es schon wieder vier Fälle, die ersten frischen Touristen aus den USA konnten einreisen.

Irgendwann in den letzten Wochen ist nach meinen Informationen ein Barkeeper aus dem Urlaub in den Niederlanden zurückgekommen. Er wurde bei seiner Einreise getestet und war negativ. Also ging er wieder zur Arbeit. Blöderweise war er jedoch trotzdem positiv. Ein großer Teil der Infektionen soll auf diese Bar zurückzuführen sein.

Am 3. August waren wir noch bei 12 Fällen, die ersten fünf Fälle wurden bekannt, in denen sich die Menschen hier auf Aruba angesteckt haben. Am 4. August stieg die Zahl auf 17, die Regierung verkündete die ersten Verschärfungen. Am 5. August wurden 39 neue Fälle bekannt. Am 6. August kamen weitere 92 Fälle hinzu. Heute dann 133. Die Gesamtzahl liegt damit bei 279 aktiven Fällen. Das explodiert hier bedauerlicherweise gerade etwas.

Busfahrer mit Maske und Scheibe

Am weitreichendsten ist die Pflicht, in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln Maske zu tragen. Damit habe ich an und für sich kein Problem. Allerdings hält manch ein Busfahrer gar nicht mehr an, wenn der Fahrgast ohne Maske an der Haltestelle wartet. Das geht mir auf den Keks, draußen kann schließlich nichts passieren. Dann wäre da noch die Sache mit dem Knoblauch… Man ist dem eigenen Atem des Todes schon ziemlich ausgeliefert.

Seit einigen Tagen warte ich angespannt auf ein Paket aus der Heimat. Jens hat es vor knapp zwei Wochen in den Niederlanden zur Post gebracht.

Man beachte die Schreibweise des “S” in FAST. Das ist Programm.

Am späten Vormittag erreicht mich ein Bündel von Nachrichten auf Whatsapp, die alle von einer mir unbekannten Rufnummer aus Aruba kommen.

“Ho”
“Hi”
“My name is luis from UPS”
“Can i hafe your name?”
“Are you the owner of Yacht Sissi?”

“My name is Jörg and I am the owner of Sissi.”

“Hi sir”
“My name is Luis from UPD”
“Ups”
“Are you in Aruba?”

“Yes I am. I hope you have a parcel for me.”

“Correct i have a transit shipment for you, but we connot delivered, customer must to picked up at Cargo Building due that the shipment is in Transit.”
“Our location is…”
“You will not pay duties”
“But our handling is”
“48.86 USD”

Das Paket liegt schon hinter Sissi am Steg

Ich bitte Charly, mich zum Flughafen zu fahren. Dort befindet sich die Niederlassung von UPS. Später bekomme ich ein schlechtes Gewissen. Mit Gesichtsmaske stehe ich im Büro und darf erst einmal knapp zehn Minuten warten, bis Luis ein Telefongespräch mit seiner Freundin beendet hat. So viel Zeit muss immer sein.

Dann legt er sich aber sofort für mich ins Zeug. Als erstes kassiert er die Gebühren. Ich zahle mit Bargeld in der Hoffnung, den Prozess vielleicht ein klein wenig beschleunigen zu können. Das Gegenteil ist der Fall – Luis findet keine 1.14 USD. Ein Kollege im Hinterzimmer kann aber wechseln. Ich darf ein paar Papiere unterschreiben, andere Zettel werden lautstark gestempelt. Dann erklärt mir Luis, dass diese Papiere nun zum Zoll müssen.

Er verschwindet für eine knappe Viertelstunde, dann sind zu dem Papierstapel noch weitere Zettel dazugekommen. Dann erklärt mir Luis, dass er nun das Paket holen geht. Schon nach 20 Minuten ist er wieder da. Ich muss die Papiere und das Paket nun zum Zoll nach Oranjestad fahren. Bzw. Charly muss mich dorthin fahren, wir sind inzwischen schon eine knappe Stunde für die Abholung des Pakets unterwegs.

Äppler an Bord

Der Hafen in Oranjestad ist weitestgehend verwaist. Trotzdem findet Charly keinen Parkplatz, Parken ist dort nicht vorgesehen. Da ich nicht weiß, wo der Zoll ist, lasse ich das Paket im Auto. Es fährt mit Charly zur Tankstelle. Zwar liegt ein Kreuzfahrer an der Pier, es ist jedoch nur ein Teil der Crew an Bord. Ich frage den Pförtner, wo sich der Zoll befindet. Der zeigt auf das benachbarte Gebäude. Dort befindet sich eine Art Käfig, in den ich gehe und an einem winzigen Fenster anklopfe.

Das Fenster öffnet sich einen Spalt und ich werde nach meinem Anliegen gefragt. Nun hätte ich das Paket präsentieren müssen. Der Zöllner gibt sich jedoch mit den Papieren zufrieden und sagt, dass er mir glaubt, ich würde das Paket an Bord bringen. Klar! Selbstverständlich!

Der teuerste Apfelwein meines Lebens

Noch nie in meinem Leben habe ich einen Apfelwein getrunken, der pro Glas sechs Euro kostet. Jeder Schluck ein Euro. Und er schmeckt richtig, richtig gut. Danke!

5 Antworten auf „Explosiv“

  1. Hi Jörg,
    erst mal herzliches Beileid zur Eintracht. Rückspiel war o.k., Hinspiel eher nicht, oder?
    Danke für Deinen Post. Zeigt er mir doch zwei Dinge. EIN einzelner PCR-Test gibt keine Sicherheit. So habe ich die Befürchtung, zu meinet Rückkehr nach Grrnada im November eine Hotel-Quarantäne machen zu müssen. Gar nicht gut. Und ein Versand von Teilen, in meinem Falle Erdatzteilen in die Karobik bleibt ein Abenteuer. Zrotz inzwischen recht genauer Info zu brokerage und “Yacht-in-Transit”.
    Danke für Deine Info und weiterhin gutes Durchhalten. Hast Du Hoffnung für die Weiterreise in 2021?
    Liebe Grüße Alfred

    1. Hallo Alfred, das mit der Eintracht war zu verschmerzen. Nach dem Hinspiel hatte ich nicht mehr viele Hoffnungen. Ich hoffe, noch in 2020 weiterreisen zu können, wenn die Hurrikansaison vorbei ist. Weihnachten wollte ich eigentlich auf einer anderen Insel verbringen, wenn die Infektionslage es hergibt. Grüße auch an Petra!

    1. Leider ist es kein kurzes Aufflackern geworden. Ich prognostiziere bis Sonntagabend eine vierstellige Zahl. Viele Touristen benehmen sich komisch, wenn sie im Urlaub sind.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.