Hello, goodbye

Sometimes there is even news in Oranjestad. A few days ago I mentioned the arrival of three new sailing boats, now I want to introduce their residents.

The reason for this round of introductions is the farewell party for Vanita, which has the opportunity to fly home for a few months with the opening of the border to the USA on July 11th. She plans to return to Aruba in early September.

Left to right: Island Lady, Aria, Toes in the Water and Sissi

Vanita and her skipper Johnny are out on the Island Lady, Shelly, Brian and Moses (giant schnauzers) live on the Aria, Karen and Dennis live on the Toes in the Water. For reasons of space, the farewell party takes place on the catamaran. Wow! My first visit to a catamaran. An incredible amount of space.

All three boats came from the US Virgin Islands, where they spent the time of the border closings. Now they stay in Aruba for the hurricane season.

Shelly, Vanita and Johnny behind Moses

An Italian evening was the order of the day. Brian brought an incredible amount of pasta with him, there were various sauces from Dennis and real Parmesan in any amount, previously appetizer. I baked our bread on board. Moses does the classic begging dog look very well. But he has to be content with some ice water.

Karen, Brian and Johnny, including Moses

It was a great pleasure for me that most of the group visited the Donkey Sanctuary. There Johnny fell in love with a three-legged donkey. Johnny lost the usability of his right arm in a car accident, Kamino lost his right front leg in a car accident. Then Johnny Kamino adopted immediately. That should also be visible on the website in a few days.

Kamino

I digress. After dinner, the music comes to this group of sailors. Brian mostly plays banjo, vanita guitar and from time to time they are accompanied by Johnny on the harmonica.

Brian and Johnny

If you don't play an instrument, you still have your voice at your disposal. I also like to participate. At home I am an enthusiastic singer in the 51500 throats of the Frankfurt Waldstadion Choir. By the way, singing out loud is better than singing beautifully.

Vanita, Shelly and Dennis are sitting next to me

In the past few days we have been singing a few times. Most of the events ended early, these people tend to go to bed earlier and get up earlier. This time it takes longer, nobody wants to break up yet.

Vanita, Shelly and Dennis

It was the last appearance in this line-up until September, but I don't think it was the last appearance at all. It's too much fun for all of us. A real alternative evening arrangement. Of course, the throat can also be moistened well.

Brian said sometime in the evening that this is the smallest cruiser community he has ever seen in Aruba. I personally feel that the community is already very large, after all, in a short time the number of boats inhabited by long-distance sailors tripled from two to six. I also expect the Lady Charlyette we met in Martinique in the pre-Corona period.

Moses relaxes

We say goodbye to each other with multiple hugs. Vanita has a tear or two in her eyes. The main thing is that she doesn't lose her sense of humor. Have a safe trip home!

Vanita on the swing

For the sake of completeness, I would like to mention that two cruise ships have been off Oranjestad for a long time. The Freewinds just relocated, the Seven Seas Splendor arrived from Los Angeles. Without passengers, of course.

Freewinds and Seven Seas Splendor

I am extremely happy that new faces can be seen here, new stories can be heard and that we really get on well. We'll have a good time together.

5 Replies to “Hello, Goodbye”

  1. After a long time I would also like to send you my best regards, wait feverishly for every blog entry. But always forget to leave nice greetings. Beautiful from sunny Frankfurt with almost cold temperatures compared to your climatic conditions.

  2. So loved meeting and making music with everyone. What a great community. Look forward to getting back to my Island Lady home ⛵️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hello, Goodbye

Manchmal gibt es sogar Neuigkeiten in Oranjestad. Vor einigen Tagen erwähnte ich die Ankunft dreier neuer Segelboote, jetzt möchte ich deren Bewohner vorstellen.

Der Anlass für diese Vorstellungsrunde ist die Abschiedsfeier für Vanita, die mit der Grenzöffnung zu den USA am 11. Juli die Möglichkeit hat, für ein paar Monate nach Hause zu fliegen. Sie plant ihre Rückkehr nach Aruba für Anfang September.

Von links nach rechts: Island Lady, Aria, Toes in the Water und Sissi

Auf der Island Lady ist Vanita mit ihrem Skipper Johnny unterwegs, auf der Aria leben Shelly, Brian und Moses (Riesenschnauzer), auf der Toes in the Water wohnen Karen und Dennis. Aus Platzgründen findet die Abschiedsfeier auf dem Katamaran statt. Wow! Mein erster Besuch auf einem Katamaran. Ein unglaubliches Platzangebot.

Alle drei Boote sind von den US Virgin Islands gekommen, wo sie die Zeit der Grenzschließungen verbracht haben. Nun bleiben sie für die Hurrikansaison in Aruba.

Shelly, Vanita und Johnny hinter Moses

Angesagt war ein italienischer Abend. Brian hat eine unglaubliche Menge Nudeln mitgebracht, dazu gab es verschiedene Saucen von Dennis und echten Parmesan in beliebigen Mengen, vorher noch Appetizer. Ich habe unser Bordbrot gebacken. Moses kann den klassischen Bettel-Hundeblick sehr gut. Doch er muss sich mit etwas Eiswasser zufrieden geben.

Karen, Brian und Johnny, darunter Moses

Es war mir eine große Freude, dass die meisten aus der Gruppe das Donkey Sanctuary besucht haben. Dort hat sich Johnny in einen dreibeinigen Esel verliebt. Johnny hat bei einem Autounfall die Gebrauchsfähigkeit seines rechten Arms verloren, Kamino hat bei einem Autounfall sein rechtes Vorderbein verloren. Daraufhin hat Johnny Kamino gleich mal adoptiert. Das sollte in ein paar Tagen auch auf der Webseite zu sehen sein.

Kamino

Ich schweife ab. Nach dem Essen kommt bei dieser Gruppe Segler die Musik. Brian spielt zumeist Banjo, Vanita Gitarre und von Zeit zu Zeit werden sie von Johnny auf der Mundharmonika begleitet.

Brian und Johnny

Wer kein Instrument spielt, hat immer noch seine Stimme zur Verfügung. Auch ich beteilige mich dabei gerne. Zu Hause bin ich begeisterter Sänger im 51500 Kehlen starken Frankfurter Waldstadionchor. Laut singen kann ich übrigens besser als schön singen.

Neben mir sitzen Vanita, Shelly und Dennis

In den vergangenen Tagen saßen wir schon ein paar Mal zum Singen zusammen. Meist waren die Veranstaltungen recht früh beendet, diese Menschen gehen eher früher ins Bett und stehen auch früher auf. Diesmal dauert es länger, noch möchte niemand Schluss machen.

Vanita, Shelly und Dennis

In dieser Besetzung war es bis September der letzte Auftritt, ich glaube aber nicht, dass es der letzte Auftritt überhaupt war. Dafür macht es uns allen zu viel Spaß. Eine echte alternative Abendgestaltung. Die Kehle lässt sich dabei natürlich auch gut befeuchten.

Brian meinte irgendwann am Abend, dass das hier auf Aruba die kleinste Cruiser-Community sei, die er jemals in seinem Leben gesehen hat. Ich persönlich empfinde die Gemeinschaft inzwischen schon als sehr groß, immerhin hat sich in kurzer Zeit die Zahl der von Langfahrtseglern bewohnten Boote von zwei auf sechs verdreifacht. Außerdem erwarte ich noch die Lady Charlyette, die wir in der Vor-Corona-Zeit auf Martinique getroffen haben.

Moses entspannt

Unter vielfachen Umarmungen verabschieden wir uns voneinander. Vanita hat die eine oder andere Träne in ihren Augen. Hauptsache, sie verliert ihren Humor nicht. Gute Heimreise!

Vanita auf der Schaukel

Der Vollständigkeit halber möchte ich noch erwähnen, dass seit langer Zeit wieder zwei Kreuzfahrtschiffe vor Oranjestad liegen. DIe Freewinds hat lediglich umgeparkt, die Seven Seas Splendor reiste aus Los Angeles an. Natürlich ohne Passagiere.

Freewinds und Seven Seas Splendor

Ich freue mich ungemein, dass hier neue Gesichter zu sehen sind, neue Geschichten zu hören sind und darüber, dass wir uns richtig gut verstehen. Wir werde gemeinsam eine schöne Zeit haben.

5 Antworten auf „Hello, Goodbye“

  1. Nach langer Zeit möchte auch mal wieder schöne Grüße ausrichten, warte fieberhaft jedem Blogeintrag entgegen. Vergesse aber immer schöne Grüße zu hinterlassen. Schöne aus dem sonnigen Frankfurt bei fast schon kalten Temperaturen, im Vergleich zu euren klimatischen Bedingungen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.