Fight for survival in the witch forest of Anaga

There are days when I need a little unnecessary effort. A masochistic voice in me makes my body suffer from pain. Sore muscles can be so nice. Monday is our departure day, so I'm planning a hiking day in Anaga National Park for Sunday. It's supposed to be Sunday, because the buses go there only at 05:30 on weekdays in the morning, and I don't want to torture myself so much after all. The timetable says that the departure at “Sabados” is at 07:30. After all, sleep two hours longer. I should have tried a couple of hours of Spanish for a long time. Friday evening, before going to bed, Jörg and I look again at the timetable to plan a tour on Saturday. Other bus lines also have “Domingos” as days in the timetable. Crap! Sabados are Saturdays. I have to start the hike tomorrow, because this bus doesn't run on Sundays.

My alarm clock rings at 06:00. I pack a bottle of water and a few other things in my backpack and make my way to the Intercambiador, the central bus station.

Intercamiador
Intercamiador

Unfortunately bread is out. I can buy something on the way. Think! At that time the city was pitch black. No people on the street and no shops open. In the bus station there is nothing for breakfast other than coffee. Then I buy something in Chamorga, the final stop. Many hikes start from there, so hungry hikers can certainly eat there too.

Linie 947
Line 947

I am the only passenger on the bus. According to the timetable, the journey takes approximately one hour. I find € 1.25 for a fair fare. The bus winds through the narrow streets into the mountains. The rising sun turns the low-hanging clouds pink. Spanish fiesta music can be heard on the radio and the driver is slowly torturing the bus with manual switching up the mountains. After about 2 hours I will be dropped off in Chamorga.

Chamorga
Chamorga

The place is very clear. After 10 minutes I saw everything. Also the building, which was probably a bar or a snack bar at some point. Nobody far and wide. So I have no choice but to start on an empty stomach and without food. A 10-kilometer hiking trail towards the coast promises a supermarket in the next town, according to the information board. Fine.

Igueste de San Andrés should be my goal.

Fog hangs in the mountains. The forests in Anaga are a kind of rainforest. It is also the wettest region on the island. The trails are wet and slippery.

Fog and lush green

Legends about witches who mischief in the forests and caves of the mountains are told. I can imagine that very well. The landscape looks magical and magical.

Zauberwald
Enchanted forest

I take my time and enjoy the fresh air. I can't move quickly on the slippery surface anyway. The climb to La Cumbrilla is steep and my stomach soon reports. The tuna steak from the previous evening gives me strength and the nearby supermarket motivates me. After about an hour I see a few small stone houses. I'm looking forward to a baguette and delicious Serrano ham.

Die schwarze Katze von der Hexe
The black cat from the witch

A black cat greets me on the way to the village. Is that the cat of one of the witches? Delicious kitchen smell comes from one of the houses and a woman sings at work. This is torture! And I'm slowly really believing that witches are doing their mischief here. You have hexed the supermarket. The next bus will take about 6 hours. I have to move on quickly, otherwise I end up in a saucepan myself.

La Cumbrilla
La Cumbrilla

It continues steeply. There are cacti on the side of the path that bear ripe prickly pears. If this hike becomes a struggle for survival, I could eat it so as not to starve. I actually prefer things like tequila.

Palme
Palm tree

The path is getting steeper and stony and is hardly recognizable. After a few slips I climb on all fours. Am I still on the right track? I haven't seen a mark in a while. It seems to me Spanish and I turn around. After about 20 minutes I find the last mark. I actually should have turned. The thing was also difficult to see. Were sure to be the witches to lure me into the trap. At least the way will be a little easier again. Steps dug in clay make climbing easier. My mood improves and hunger is forgotten for now.

Vom Hunger benebelt dämlich gequältes grinsen
Stupid grief stunned by hunger

Once at the summit, the path crosses a road. I could also sit on the side of the road and hitchhike back. The people on the islands are usually very nice and the chances of someone stopping are great. The little masochistic voice, however, answers again and forces me to continue running. The path becomes smaller again and leads me through a valley into the next enchanted forest. I miss the way markings at a fork. Left or right? Not correct! Back. I've got lost again. And I don't even have bread to mark the way. Or ham, or ... muzzle your stomach!

Links oder rechts?
Left or right?

Fortunately, the right junction was not that far away this time. The white and yellow marking shows me the way.

weiß-gelb zeigt mir den Kurs
White and yellow shows me the course

It keeps going up and the vegetation becomes barren. Trees become small bushes, palm trees become cacti. I reach the highest point of the tour and I am rewarded with a breathtaking view of the coast. It was worth it.

Die Belohnung
The reward

I see Igueste down in the valley. I have to go there. There the bus runs every two hours and there are always restaurants on the coast. The goal is in sight. Passing a few goats, I climb over the mountain and start to descend.

Määähhhh!
Määähhhh!

I did it. I escaped the witch forest. There is no fog here and no dark paths. Almost only cacti are growing on this side of the mountains. Each of my steps is accompanied by a rustle in the undergrowth. Thousands of little lizards whiz around and hide from my big feet.

Sommer, Sonne, Kaktus.
Summer sun Cactus.

At some point I reach a street again. It is only a few hundred meters to the town. My steps speed up. I can smell it. Something to eat. Again I am greeted by cats. But this time it's white cats. Sissi was a black cat and actually black cats always bring us luck. Different laws apply in a bewitched forest. In any case, I find a tapas bar just behind the cats and stuff my chest full.

Glückskatzen
Lucky cats

It took me about 5 hours to cover the 10 kilometers. With this cut, I think I have the best chances should I apply to DHL.

Prost!
Bottom up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Überlebenskampf im Hexenwald von Anaga

Es gibt Tage, an denen ich etwas unnötige Anstrengung brauche. Eine masochistische Stimme in mir verlangt danach, dass mein Körper Schmerzen leidet. Muskelkater kann so schön sein. Montag ist unser Abfahrtstag, also plane ich für Sonntag einen Wandertag im Anaga Nationalpark. Es soll der Sonntag sein, denn die Busse dorthin fahren Wochentags am Vormittag nur um 05:30 ab, und so sehr möchte ich mich dann doch nicht quälen. Im Fahrplan steht, dass die Abfahrt an “Sabados” um 07:30 ist. Immerhin zwei Stunden länger schlafen. Ich hätte mich schon lange um ein paar Spanisch Stunden bemühen sollen. Freitag Abend, vor dem Schlafengehen, schauen Jörg und ich nochmals in den Fahrplan, um eine Tour am Samstag zu planen. Andere Buslinien haben auch “Domingos” als Tage im Fahrplan stehen. Scheiße! Sabados sind Samstage. Ich muss die Wanderung gleich morgen starten, denn Sonntags fährt dieser Bus gar nicht.

Um 06:00 klingelt mein Wecker. Ich packe eine Flasche Wasser und ein paar andere Dinge in meinen Rucksack und mache mich auf den Weg zum Intercambiador, der zentralen Busstation.

Intercamiador
Intercamiador

Brot ist leider aus. Ich kann mir ja unterwegs etwas kaufen. Denkste! Die Stadt ist zu dieser Zeit stockfinster. Keine Menschen auf der Straße und keine Geschäfte geöffnet. In der Busstation gibt es außer einem Kaffee auch nichts zum Frühstück. Dann kaufe ich mir halt in Chamorga, der Endhaltestelle, etwas. Vor dort starten viele Wanderungen, also können sich hungrige Wanderer dort sicherlich auch verpflegen.

Linie 947
Linie 947

Ich bin der einzige Fahrgast im Bus. Laut Fahrplan dauert die Fahrt ca. eine Stunde. 1,25€ finde ich dafür einen fairen Fahrpreis. Der Bus schlängelt sich durch die engen Straßen in die Berge. Die aufgehende Sonne färbt die tief hängenden Wolken rosarot. Spanische Fiesta Musik tönt aus dem Radio und der Fahrer quält den Bus mit manueller Schaltung langsam immer weiter die Berge hinauf. Nach etwa 2 Stunden werde ich dann in Chamorga abgesetzt.

Chamorga
Chamorga

Der Ort ist sehr übersichtlich. Nach 10 Minuten habe ich alles gesehen. Auch das Gebäude, das wohl irgendwann mal eine Bar oder Imbiss war. Kein Mensch weit und breit. Es bleibt mir also nichts anderes übrig, als mit leerem Magen und ohne Verpflegung loszulaufen. Ein 10 Kilometer langer Wanderweg in Richtung Küste verspricht laut Infotafel einen Supermarkt im nächsten Ort. Prima.

Igueste de San Andrés sollte mein Ziel sein.

Nebel hängt in den Bergen. Die Wälder im Anaga sind so eine Art Regenwald. Es ist auch die feuchteste Region der Insel. Die Wege sind nass und glitschig.

Nebel und sattes Grün

Legenden über Hexen, die in den Wäldern und Höhlen der Berge ihr Unwesen treiben, werden erzählt. Ich kann mir das gut vorstellen. Die Landschaft wirkt märchenhaft verwunschen.

Zauberwald
Zauberwald

Ich lasse mir Zeit und genieße die frische Luft. Schnell kann ich mich auf dem glitschigen Untergrund ohnehin nicht bewegen. Der Anstieg nach La Cumbrilla ist steil und schon bald meldet sich mein Magen. Das Thunfischsteak vom Vorabend gibt mir Kraft und der nahe Supermarkt motiviert mich. Nach etwa einer Stunde sehe ein paar kleine Steinhäuser. Ich freue mich auf ein Baguette und leckeren Serrano Schinken.

Die schwarze Katze von der Hexe
Die schwarze Katze von der Hexe

Eine schwarze Katze begrüßt mich auf dem Weg in den Ort. Ist das die Katze von einer der Hexen? Aus einem der Häuser dringt leckerer Küchengeruch und eine Frau singt bei der Arbeit. Das ist Folter! Und dass Hexen hier ihr Unheil treiben, glaube ich langsam wirklich. Sie haben nämlich den Supermarkt weggehext. Der nächste Bus fährt erst in etwa 6 Stunden. Ich muss schnell weiter, sonst lande ich am Ende selbst in einem Kochtopf.

La Cumbrilla
La Cumbrilla

Es geht steil weiter. Am Wegesrand stehen Kakteen, die reife Kaktusfeigen tragen. Wird diese Wanderung zum Überlebenskampf, könnte ich die essen, um nicht zu verhungern. Ich hab’ die Dinger aber eigentlich lieber in Form von Tequila.

Palme
Palme

Der Weg wird immer steiler, steiniger und ist kaum noch zu erkennen. Nach ein paar Ausrutschern klettere ich auf allen Vieren weiter. Bin ich noch auf dem richtigen Weg? Eine Markierung habe ich schon seit einer Weile nicht mehr gesehen. Mir kommt das spanisch vor und ich kehre um. Nach etwa 20 Minuten finde ich die letzte Markierung. Ich hätte tatsächlich abbiegen müssen. Das Ding war aber auch schwer zu erkennen. Waren sicher die Hexen, um mich in die Falle zu locken. Zumindest wird der Weg wieder etwas leichter. In Lehm gegrabene Treppenstufen erleichtern den Aufstieg. Meine Laune bessert sich und der Hunger ist vorerst vergessen.

Vom Hunger benebelt dämlich gequältes grinsen
Vom Hunger benebelt dämlich gequältes Grinsen

Auf dem Gipfel angekommen kreuzt der Weg eine Straße. Ich könnte mich ja auch an den Straßenrand setzen und per Anhalter zurück fahren. Die Leute auf den Inseln sind normalerweise sehr nett und die Chancen, dass jemand anhält, sind groß. Die kleine masochistische Stimme meldet sich allerdings wieder und zwingt mich weiter zu laufen. Der Pfad wird wieder kleiner und führt mich durch ein Tal in den nächsten verwunschenen Wald. An einer Gabelung vermisse ich die Wegmarkierung. Links oder Rechts? Falsch! Zurück. Ich habe mich schon wieder verlaufen. Und ich habe nicht mal ein Brot, um den Weg zu markieren. Oder Schinken, oder… Schnauze Magen!

Links oder rechts?
Links oder rechts?

Der richtige Abzweig war diesmal zum Glück nicht ganz so weit weg. Die weiß-gelbe Markierung zeigt mir den Weg.

weiß-gelb zeigt mir den Kurs
Weiß-gelb zeigt mir den Kurs

Es geht immer weiter hinauf und die Vegetation wird karger. Aus Bäumen werden kleine Büsche, aus Palmen werden Kakteen. Ich erreiche den höchsten Punkt der Tour und werde mit einem atemberaubenden Ausblick auf die Küste belohnt. Das war es wert.

Die Belohnung
Die Belohnung

Unten im Tal sehe ich Igueste. Da muss ich hin. Dort fährt der Bus alle zwei Stunden und an der Küste gibt es immer Restaurants. Das Ziel ist in Sicht. Vorbei an ein paar Ziegen steige ich über den Berg und beginne mit dem Abstieg.

Määähhhh!
Määähhhh!

Ich habe es geschafft. Ich bin dem Hexenwald entkommen. Hier gibt es keinen Nebel und keine düsteren Pfade. Auf dieser Seite der Berge wachsen fast nur noch Kakteen. Jeder meiner Schritte wird von einem Rascheln im Unterholz begleitet. Tausende kleine Eidechsen flitzen durch die Gegend und verstecken sich vor meinen großen Füßen.

Sommer, Sonne, Kaktus.
Sommer, Sonne, Kaktus.

Irgendwann erreiche ich wieder eine Straße. Es sind nur noch ein paar hundert Meter bis in den Ort. Meine Schritte beschleunigen sich. Ich kann es riechen. Was zum Essen. Wieder werde ich von Katzen begrüßt. Doch diesmal sind es weiße Katzen. Sissi war eine schwarze Katze und eigentlich bringen uns schwarze Katzen immer Glück. In einem verhexten Wald gelten wohl andere Gesetze. Jedenfalls finde ich kurz hinter den Katzen eine Tapas Bar und stopfe mir den Wanst voll.

Glückskatzen
Glückskatzen

Für die 10 Kilometer habe ich etwa 5 Stunden gebraucht. Bei diesem Schnitt rechne ich mir beste Chancen aus, sollte ich mich mal bei DHL bewerben.

Prost!
Prost!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.