Action

Cruising sailors are lazy packs. They mostly lie around in the harbor and relax. If you do drive off, you want to work as little as possible. The most relaxing courses are downwind courses with moderate waves. The sails come up in the morning and are taken down again the next day in a completely different place.

Seven turns on the way to Wicklow

The opposite are upwind courses. The wind hits the boat from the front, it has to throw itself into the waves and every few minutes the sailors have to work because the course wants to turn. Exhausting.

Driving in the wind is exhausting.

After only six hours on the wind, we were done and had to hit each other on the ear in Wicklow. We are not used to that (anymore). We fell into bed so quickly that we didn't even want great from the investor beer anymore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Action

Fahrtensegler sind faules Pack. Sie liegen meist im Hafen herum und entspannen sich. Fahren sie dann doch einmal los, wollen sie möglichst wenig dabei arbeiten. Die entspannendsten Kurse sind Vorwindkurse bei moderater Welle. Da kommen die Segel am Morgen hoch und werden am übernächsten Tag an einem völlig anderen Ort wieder herunter genommen.

Sieben Wenden auf dem Weg nach Wicklow

Das Gegenteil sind Amwindkurse. Der Wind kracht von vorne auf das Boot, es muss sich in die Wellen stürzen und alle paar Minuten müssen die Segler arbeiten, weil der Kurs eine Wende will. Anstrengend.

Am Wind fahren ist anstrengend.

Nach nur sechs Stunden am Wind waren wir fertig und mussten uns in Wicklow aufs Ohr hauen. Wir sind das nicht (mehr) gewöhnt. Wir sind so schnell ins Bett gefallen, dass wir nicht einmal mehr großartig vom Anlegerbier wollten.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.