Juniedabaaag?

Or in good English: “Do you need a bag?” We get asked this question again and again at the checkout in the supermarket. Of course we don't need it, because we are well equipped and can do without the stupid plastic bags.

Baaag

The Scot pronounces the words a little harder, on Islay they sound a little harder than on the mainland. On my first visit to Islay, I stood at the cash register and knew with the words “Wannabaaag?” to do nothing at all. The cashier then showed me the plastic bag and asked me in sign language. Of course I've learned the vocabulary by now.

Of course I like to run through Port Ellen with these beautiful bags and I would like to say hello to all my ex-colleagues!

One Reply to “Juniedabaaag?”

  1. Moin Jörg & Jens,

    look impressive what you two have already done on your own, was a great idea with your blog! Truly impressive, what you pull through there, hopefully always a hand's breadth of water under your keel! Best regards from Frankfurt, Stefan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Juniedabaaag?

Oder auf gut Englisch: “Do you need a bag?” Die Frage bekommen wir im Supermarkt an der Kasse immer wieder gestellt. Brauchen wir natürlich nicht, denn wir sind gut ausgestattet und kommen ohne die blöden Plastiktüten aus.

Baaag

Der Schotte spricht die Worte etwas härter aus, auf Islay klingen sie dann noch etwas härter, als auf dem Mainland. Bei meinem ersten Besuch auf Islay stand ich an der Kasse und wusste mit den Worten “Wannabaaag?” gar nichts anzufangen. Die Kassiererin hat mir dann die Plastiktüte gezeigt und mich mit Zeichensprache gefragt. Natürlich habe ich die Vokabel inzwischen gelernt.

Selbstverständlich laufe ich gerne mit diesen schönen Taschen durch Port Ellen und grüße hiermit alle Ex-Kollegen!

Eine Antwort auf „Juniedabaaag?“

  1. Moin Jörg & Jens,

    seh beeindruckend, was ihr zwei bisher alleine schon veranstaltet habt, war ‘ne super Idee mit Euerm Blog! Wahrlich imposant, was ihr da durchzieht, hoffentlich immer ‘ne handbreit Wasser unterm Kiel! Beste Grüsse aus Frankfurt, Stefan

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.