nostalgia

For once we did everything right. We couldn't have taken the sails down at a better time. The wind picked up a lot overnight and with the gusts we are experiencing today, the genoa would still be in place. Bravo!

Cruise ship in March 2020 in Bonaire

Tomorrow is March 1st. Exactly a year ago we were in Bonaire and saw a cruise ship mooring at the pier every day, and on some days two. Of course there was this Chinese virus somewhere on the other side of the planet, but it had no effect on life. In the morning the crusaders stormed the island en masse, in the evening they disappeared again and we had our rest at our buoy - until the next morning.

Traveling was so easy. And cheap. We chose the island we wanted, when we cleared out we got the documents for the destination and then we set off. The entry into the destination country was uncomplicated, I just had to do the more or less long marathon through the various authorities. That was done in a period of between five minutes (Martinique) up to two hours (St. Lucia). In St. Lucia it took so long because the different authorities took their lunch break at different times.

The visits to the authorities cost more or less a lot of money, but it was cheap compared to the costs that travelers have to face today.

Martinique Carnival, February 2020

Now travel is complicated. And expensive. Those who want to travel these days have to prepare the bureaucratic part almost better than the sailing part. In any case, you should have additional supplies on board for two weeks in case a two-week quarantine is unexpectedly ordered at the destination. We want to move from Aruba to another island. Okay, what alternatives do we have?

Shopping street in Bridgetown, Barbados, on January 2020

Curacao. The shortest possible route. The prerequisite for entry is a negative Covid-19 test that is no more than 72 hours old. You register your trip via a website. You even have to give the estimated time of arrival in advance. The negative test result must be uploaded to a specific website. 125$ are required for each of the tests. Curacao can be reached in approx. 14 engine hours. Sailing is pretty crappy ... because the wind comes directly towards you. Choose a day of the crossing with a light wind. The number of Covid-19 diseases is very low.

Dominican Republic. Registration on various websites is required. They do not require a Covid test. When entering the country, the temperature is measured and that is basically it. Our friends at Chapo paid $ 260 in fees. This includes the service provider for the jungle of authorities. Sailing in the DR is very possible, because the wind always blows from the beautiful half-wind direction. The number of new infections with Covid is relatively high.

Puerto Rico. Is canceled due to a lack of health insurance coverage. This also applies to the US Virgin Islands.

British Virgin Islands. Still closed. The opening has just been postponed to mid-April. We cannot and do not want to rely on that.

Anguilla. When you're signed in, they let you in. There are also websites for registration here. They request a negative Covid-19 test that is no more than five days old. The problem here is that Anguilla is so far east that we have to fight quite a bit to get there. It'll take us more than five days. On arrival there is still a Covid test, followed by 10 days of quarantine and a final Covid test. That's pretty expensive, of course the normal fees come on top of that. After that life is fine because there are no more cases.

Party on Friday night in Gros Islet, St. Lucia, February 2020

There are no guarantees that the rules won't change overnight. Countries can close again because of the fear of the mutations or because of - uh - no idea. They can close, and so do they.

Grenada. The absolute toughest tour. 500 miles straight upwind. 500 miles against a current of up to 2 knots. Much harder than sailing from Cuba to Aruba. But our friends from Milena Bonatti were able to get their Covid-19 vaccination there. That would be quite a motivation for the ride. With an estimated travel time of over 14 days, we would probably no longer have to do quarantine. In Grenada the good AstraZeneca is used.

When our mast is repaired, we'll leave the island. For my soul, I would like a departure date before March 11th. We arrived in Aruba for the first time on March 11, 2020. The borders were closed on March 14th. The airport was shut down at the end of the month. Aruba went into a deep sleep.

Lockdown. March 2020

Curacao seems uneconomical to me, as the landscape is only slightly different from that of Aruba. The Dominican Republic is a so-called low-hanging fruit that is easy to pick. Will we be happy with that? All the islands in the east are difficult to reach. Should we go straight to France (Guadeloupe)? We can at least stock up there before we head back across the Atlantic to Europe in a few months. I dont know.

Or are we going to take on the effort for Grenada? The chance of a vaccination and possibly fewer visits to the authorities and Covid-19 tests in the future. I would like to use vaccination privileges. I'm still doing research.

There is still no opening perspective in Jamaica. Jamaica would be very easy to get to. According to hearsay, Jamaica will not open its ports again until cruise tourism is back on its feet. The few sailing boats that are sailing in the Caribbean are ignored by the authorities.

Britannia in January 2020. Comes too close for us between Barbados and St. Lucia. Our cell phones were in the on-board network. I can do without these things.

We'll likely be back in Europe when the first crusaders hit the Caribbean again. So Jamaica will no longer work this spring. Too bad, but not to change. Traveling used to be so easy, so spontaneous. "Hey, the wind is looking good for the next few days, let's go." Quickly to the authorities and then be free. You could change your destination along the way. The stop on Bonaire was spontaneous, we had papers for Aruba with us. I get nostalgic feelings, even though my career as a long-distance driver has been rather short so far.

I'm looking forward to a few days of sailing, even if they are exhausting. Sailing days are good for the mind.

Let your mind wander. January 2020.

2 Replies to “Nostalgie”

  1. Hi Jörg,
    Once again a very successful description of our sailing situation, although you have it a little more difficult with your general course east compared to most of the others. It comes across well, no matter how beautiful it is, in the end we are cruising sailors and want to sail and wherever but somewhere, somehow further. We are surprised that you are so relaxed about the French Guadeloupe when it comes to entering the country. Didn't France shut down completely? Grenada is cool, but it will be heavy for you. Maybe in two big hits? First something in the north (Dominican Republic?), Then down to Grenada?
    Good luck, we look forward to seeing you!
    best regards
    Alfred and Petra
    SY Milena Bonatti

  2. Guadeloupe is leaving because we are from the EU. We want to wait with that, however, before another island comes next. We are still in the decision-making process. We're ruling out the Dominican Republic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nostalgie

Ausnahmsweise haben wir alles richtig gemacht. Die Segel hätten wir zu keinem besseren Zeitpunkt runter nehmen können. Über Nacht hat der Wind ordentlich aufgefrischt und bei den Böen, die wir heute erleben, wäre die Genua immer noch an Ort und Stelle. Bravo!

Kreuzfahrtschiff im März 2020 in Bonaire

Morgen ist der 1. März. Genau vor einem Jahr waren wir in Bonaire und sahen jeden Tag ein Kreuzfahrtschiff am Anleger festmachen, an manchen Tagen auch zwei. Natürlich war irgendwo auf der anderen Seite des Planeten dieses chinesische Virus unterwegs, das hatte auf das Leben jedoch keinerlei Auswirkungen. Massenweise erstürmten die Kreuzfahrer am Morgen die Insel, am Abend verschwanden sie wieder und wir hatten an unserer Boje unsere Ruhe – bis zum nächsten Morgen.

Reisen war so unkompliziert. Und günstig. Wir wählten die gewünschte Insel aus, beim Ausklarieren bekamen wir die Dokumente für das Ziel und dann segelten wir los. Die Einreise im Zielland war unkompliziert, ich musste lediglich den mehr oder minder langen Marathon durch die unterschiedlichen Behörden erledigen. Das war dann in einem Zeitraum zwischen fünf Minuten (Martinique) bis zu zwei Stunden (St. Lucia) erledigt. In St. Lucia hat es deswegen so lange gedauert, weil die unterschiedlichen Behörden zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten ihre Mittagspause gemacht haben.

Die Behördengänge kosteten zwar mehr oder minder viel Geld, es war jedoch günstig im Vergleich zu den Kosten, die heute auf den Reisenden zukommen.

Karneval in Martinique, Februar 2020

Jetzt ist Reisen kompliziert. Und teuer. Wer heutzutage reisen möchte, muss den bürokratischen Teil fast besser vorbereiten als den seglerischen. Auf jeden Fall sollte man Zusatzvorräte für zwei Wochen an Bord haben, falls unerwartet am Zielort eine zweiwöchige Quarantäne angeordnet wird. Wir wollen uns von Aruba auf eine andere Insel bewegen. Okay, welche Alternativen haben wir denn?

Einkaufsstraße in Bridgetown, Barbados, im Januar 2020

Curacao. Die kürzest mögliche Strecke. Voraussetzung für die Einreise ist ein maximal 72 Stunden alter, negativer Covid-19 Test. Man meldet seine Reise über eine Webseite an. Man muss sogar die geschätzte Ankunftszeit vorher bekanntgeben. Das negative Testergebnis muss auf eine bestimmte Webseite hochgeladen werden. Für die Tests werden jeweils 125$ verlangt. Erreichbar ist Curacao in ca. 14 Motorstunden. Segeln ist ziemlich besch…., da der Wind direkt entgegen kommt. Man wählt als Tag der Überfahrt einen schwach windigen Tag. Die Zahl der Covid-19 Erkrankungen ist sehr gering.

Dominikanische Republik. Voraussetzung ist die Registrierung auf verschiedenen Webseiten. Einen Covid-Test verlangen sie nicht. Bei der Einreise wird die Temperatur gemessen und das war es dann auch im Prinzip. Unsere Freunde von der Chapo haben 260 Dollar Gebühren bezahlt. Darin enthalten ist der Dienstleister für den Behördendschungel. Segeln in die DR ist sehr gut möglich, der Wind weht nämlich immer aus der schönen Halbwindrichtung. Die Zahl der Neuinfektionen mit Covid ist einigermaßen hoch.

Puerto Rico. Fällt aus wegen fehlendem Krankenversicherungsschutz. Das gilt auch für die US Virgin Islands.

British Virgin Islands. Immer noch geschlossen. Gerade wurde die Öffnung auf Mitte April verschoben. Darauf können und wollen wir uns nicht verlassen.

Anguilla. Wenn man angemeldet ist, lassen sie einen rein. Auch hier gibt es Webseiten für die Anmeldung. Sie verlangen dort einen maximal fünf Tage alten, negativen Covid-19 Test. Das Problem ist hier schon einmal, dass Anguilla so weit östlich liegt, dass wir ziemlich kämpfen müssen, um dorthin zu kommen. Wir werden mehr als fünf Tage brauchen. Bei der Ankunft gibt es noch einen Covid-Test, es folgen 10 Tage Quarantäne und ein abschließender Covid-Test. Das ist ziemlich teuer, die normalen Gebühren kommen selbstverständlich noch oben drauf. Danach ist das Leben aber fein, denn es gibt keine Fälle mehr.

Party am Freitagabend in Gros Islet, St. Lucia, Februar 2020

Es gibt keine Garantien, dass sich die Regeln nicht von heute auf morgen wieder ändern. Länder können wieder schließen, wegen der Angst vor den Mutationen oder wegen – äh – keine Ahnung. Sie können schließen und sie tun es auch.

Grenada. Die absolut härteste Tour. 500 Meilen direkt gegen den Wind. 500 Meilen gegen eine Strömung von bis zu 2 kn. Noch viel härter, als von Kuba nach Aruba zu segeln. Aber unsere Freunde von der Milena Bonatti konnten dort ihre Covid-19-Impfung bekommen. Das wäre eine ziemliche Motivation für den Ritt. Quarantäne müssten wir bei einer veranschlagten Reisezeit von über 14 Tagen wohl nicht mehr machen. In Grenada wird das gute AstraZeneca benutzt.

Wenn unser Mast repariert ist, verlassen wir die Insel. Für meine Seele hätte ich gerne einen Abfahrtstermin vor dem 11. März. Am 11. März 2020 sind wir nämlich erstmals auf Aruba angekommen. Am 14 März wurden die Grenzen geschlossen. Ende des Monats auch noch der Flughafen stillgelegt. Aruba ging in den Tiefschlaf.

Lockdown. März 2020

Curacao erscheint mir unwirtschaftlich, da sich die Landschaft nur geringfügig von der Arubas unterscheidet. Die Dominikanische Republik ist eine sogenannte tief hängende Frucht, die leicht zu pflücken ist. Werden wir damit glücklich? Die ganzen Inseln im Osten sind schwer erreichbar. Sollen wir direkt nach Frankreich (Guadeloupe) fahren? Dort können wir wenigstens bevorraten, bevor es in ein paar Monaten über den Atlantik nach Europa zurück geht. Ich weiß es nicht.

Oder nehmen wir die Anstrengungen für Grenada auf uns? Die Chance auf eine Impfung und möglicherweise weniger Behördengänge und Covid-19-Tests in der Zukunft. Impfprivilegien würde ich gerne nutzen. Ich recherchiere noch.

In Jamaika gibt es immer noch keine Öffnungsperspektive. Jamaika wäre sehr leicht erreichbar. Dem Hörensagen nach wird Jamaika erst wieder die Häfen öffnen, wenn der Kreuzfahrttourismus wieder in Gang ist. Die paar Segelboote, die in der Karibik unterwegs sind, werden von den Behörden ignoriert.

Britannia im Januar 2020. Kommt uns zwischen Barbados und St. Lucia viel zu nah. Unsere Handys waren im Bordnetz. Ich kann auf die Dinger gerne verzichten.

Wir sind wahrscheinlich wieder in Europa, wenn die ersten Kreuzfahrer wieder die Karibik unsicher machen. Also wird das mit Jamaika in diesem Frühjahr nichts mehr. Schade, aber nicht zu ändern. Das Reisen war früher so einfach, so spontan. “Hey, der Wind sieht gut aus in den nächsten Tagen, lass’ uns losfahren.” Schnell zu den Behörden und anschließend frei sein. Man konnte unterwegs das Ziel ändern. Der Stopp auf Bonaire war spontan, wir hatten Papiere für Aruba dabei. Dabei bekomme ich nostalgische Gefühle, obwohl meine Karriere als Langfahrer bisher eher kurz ist.

Ich freue mich auf ein paar Segeltage, auch wenn diese anstrengend sind. Segeltage sind gut für den Geist.

Die Seele baumeln lassen. Januar 2020.

2 Antworten auf „Nostalgie“

  1. Hi Jörg,
    mal wieder eine sehr gelungene Beschreibung unserer Seglersituation, wenngleich ihr es ein wenig schwerer habt mit Eurem Generalkurs Ost im Vergleich zu den meisten anderen. Es kommt gut rüber, auch wenn es noch so schön ist, am Ende sind wir Fahrtensegler und möchten segeln und wo auch immer aber irgendwohin, irgendwie weiter. Es wundert uns, dass Du das französische Guadeloupe so entspannt siehst bzgl Einreise. Hat Frankreich nicht vollkommen dicht gemacht? Grenada ist schon cool, aber das wird heavy für Euch. Vielleicht in zwei großen Schlägen? Erst irgendwas im Norden ( DomRep?), dann runter nach Grenada?
    Viel Glück, wir freuen uns auf Euch!
    Liebe Grüße
    Alfred und Petra
    SY Milena Bonatti

  2. Guadeloupe geht, weil wir aus der EU sind. Wir wollen damit allerdings noch warten, vorher kommt eine andere Insel dran. Noch sind wir in der Entscheidungsfindung. Die Dominikanische Republik schließen wir schon mal aus.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.